Spring Sports

Spring Sports

Island School embraces the idea that students benefit from regular, strenuous physical activity. While athletics remain just one part of Island School’s broad educational experience, we believe it’s a vital part. Experience suggests that students find reward from contributing to a joint effort with teammates. Lessons in teamwork also teaches them about commitment, sportsmanship, and competition, not to mention limits and stress. Friendships made on the athletic field carry over to the rest of campus life.

Golf

Both boys and girls have taken the golf course as varsity athletes to represent the Voyagers on the fairways and greens. Students have gone on to compete at the state level the last two years. Matches are played at the many different local course on Kauai.

Schedule
Sat. 2/25/2017 Match #1 Poipu Bay 12:00
Sat. 3/4/2017 Match #2 Hoku’ala 12:00
Sat. 3/11/2017 Match #3 Puakea 12:00
Sat. 3/18/2017 Make up, if needed
Sat. 4/1/2017 Match #4 Wailua 12:00
Sat. 4/8/2017 Match #5 Wailua 12:00
Sat. 4/15/2017 Match #6 Wailua 12:00
Fri. 4/21/2017 Qualifying 1 Wailua 12:00
Sat. 4/22/2017 Qualifying 2 Wailua 12:00
Tue. 5/16/2017 Post-Season Meeting Kauai HS Library 5:00 p.m.

Tennis

A varsity sport for both boys and girls. Teams are often comprised of 9 members , 3 singles and 3 doubles who compete against other 9 member teams.

Schedule

Sat. 2/25/2017 Island VS Waimea KCC 3:00 p.m.
Sat. 3/4/2017 Island VS Kauai KCC 1:00 p.m.
Sat. 3/11/2017 Kapaa VS Island Hanalei Bay Resort 10:00 a.m.
Sat. 4/1/2017 Waimea VS Island Waimea HS 10:00 a.m.
Sat. 4/8/2017 Kauai VS Island Holu’ala 10:00 a.m.
Sat. 4/15/2017 Island VS Kapaa KCC 1:00 p.m.
Mon. 4/17/2017 Seeding Meeting Kauai HS 5:30 p.m.
Thur. – Fri. 4/20-21/17 State Qualifying Tounament KCC & Hoku’ala 8:00 a.m.
Tue. 5/16/2017 Post-Season Meeting Kauai HS Library 5:00 p.m.

Track

Individual runners comprise of a team that competes in a variety of different events.

Schedule

Thur. 3/2/2017 Qualifying Meet #1 Vidinha Stadium 4:30 PM
Thur. 3/9/2017 Qualifying Meet #2 Vidinha Stadium 4:30 PM
Thur. 3/16/2017 Qualifying Meet #3 Vidinha Stadium 4:30 PM
Thur. 3/30/2017 Qualifying Meet #4 Vidinha Stadium 4:30 PM
Thur. 4/6/2017 Qualifying Rotary Meet Vidinha Stadium 4:30 PM
Thur 4/13/2017 Qualifying Meet #5 Vidinha Stadium 4:30 PM
Thurs. 4/20/2017 KIF Championship (Trials) Vidinha Stadium 4:00 PM
Fri. 4/28/2017 KIF Championship (Finals) Vidinha Stadium 4:00 PM


Photo Gallery

News and Information

KIF Update: week of February 13

  Swimming: Coach Shannon Wigent Henry Scherer ’19 swam well last weekend at the state championships. He finished 22nd in the 200 free with a time of 1:54.69, his 2nd fastest time in this event. Henry finished 19th in the 500 free with a time of 5:07.48 which is his fastest …

Read More »

Spring Sports

Here is the Spring sports schedule

Read More »

Comments are closed